ARKANSAS STATE UNIVERSITY FACULTY SENATE MEETING September 2, 2022 HSS 1028

Attendees: Sudeepa Bhattacharyya, Andrea Brown, Donna Caldwell, Ibrahim Duyar, Addie Fleming, Karen Graham, Bert Greenwalt, John Hershberger, Zahid Hossain, Veena Kulkarni, Scott Mangan, William Maynard, Suzanne Melescue, Carlitta Moore, Nikesha Nesbitt, Arianne Pait, Jake Quals, Claude Rector, Robert Robinette, DayDay Robinson, Ed Salo, Sarah Scott, Eric Scudamore, Richard Segall, Rollin Tusalem, J. Morgan Weatherly, Robert Williams

Proxy Attendees: Cindy B. Crum for Matt Harmon, Rashele Wade for Cheryl Knight, Marika Kyriakos for Tim Oliver

Absentees: Kris Biordollilo, Gary Edwards, Katie Hill, Gabriel Horowitz, Pradeep Mishar, Kim Vickery

Meeting Called to Order: Ed Salo established a quorum. The meeting was called to order at 3:00 pm by Ed Salo.

Order of the Day: Motion made to approve the order of the day by Andrea Brown, Carlitta Moore seconded, all in favor, motion carried.

Approval of Minutes: Motion made to approve the April 15, 2022 minutes by Carlitta Moore, John Hershberger seconded, all in favor, motion carried.

Elect Senate Secretary: Ed Salo accepted nominations for Senate Secretary. Addie Fleming self-nominated. No other nominations. Motion made to approve Addie Fleming as Senate Secretary by Carlitta Moore, Arianne Pait seconded, all in favor, motion carried.

Elect Vice-President: To date, there have been two nominations, John Hershberger and Carlitta Moore. No new nominations. Both candidates gave a short speech. Voting was conducted via paper ballot. John Hershberger received 7 votes and Carlitta Moore received 23 votes. Carlitta Moore approved as Senate Vice-President.

Guest Speaker: Dr. Melanie Wicinski

(mwicinski@astate.edu) Assistant Vice Chancellor for Accreditation and Assessment Dr. Wicinski came to speak about their new initiative and discuss what their office does.

- Mary Elizabeth Spence (<u>mspence@astate.edu</u>) Assistant Director of Assessment, and Kevin Hennings (<u>khennings@astate.edu</u>) Research Analyst, also work in the Assessment office. The Testing Center also housed in this office—placement testing, CLEP, certification testing, TOEFL, ACT/SAT/GRE/GMAT/MAT, and scantron services with concept statistics.
- Accredit 2024- Why HLC accreditation? —mark of quality and excellence; also provides assurance that we are meeting our mission for all our stakeholders; also required to get

federal funding; impacts ability to get specialized accreditation; aids students in transferring credits; now "Institutional Accreditation"—HLC accredits the entire institution. HLC is peer run. Specialized Accreditors— "get in the weeds"—for specific programs—more granular. Both (institutional and specialized accreditors) look at qualifications to see if you are meeting mission and requirements.

- HLC is our ally! Dr. Wicinski is our advocate and our liaison with them. Always refer back to institutional requirement and/or HLC requirements.
- 10-year cycle—year 4 comprehensive visit; year 10 comprehensive visit and reaffirmation; visit scheduled for April 22-23, 2024 (for reaffirmation); Assurance Argument due to HLC March 2024 Last document was over 37,000 words (we are allowed 40,000)
- Structure—6 committees (1 per criterion and a Review Committee)—want you to be informed and knowledgeable constituency (transparency)—committees chosen through ARA (Academic Research Affairs)
 - Criterion 1: Erika Chudy (Chair), Lillie Fears, Lonnie Williams, Stacy Walz, Carlee Bird
 - Criterion 2: Will McLean (Chair), Perdeta Bush, Lori Winn, Brandy Hampton, Len Frey
 - Criterion 3: Jill Simons (Chair), Tom Risch, Kelli Listenbee, Martha Spack, Mary Jane Bradley
 - o Criterion 4: Shelley Gipson (Chair), David Harding, Elizabeth Wakefield, Mary Elizabeth Spence, Ruth Owens
 - Criterion 5: Loretta McGregor (Chair), Russ Hannah, Thilla Sivakumaran, Tiffany Keb, Kathy Hicks
 - Review Committee: Alyssa Wells, Fen Yu, Wayne Wilkinson, Eric Atchison, Melanie Wicinski, Kevin Hennings, Sarah Davidson, Edward Salo
 - o Advisors: Henry Torres and Rick Stripling
- Your role: What might you do: Be engaged; Verbalize any feedback you might have; include it in your discussions; you may be asked to participate temporarily on a committee; may be a part of the visit.
- Assessment Office Location: Dean B Ellis Library; 6th floor (Room 610) 870-972-2989

Old Business:

Committee Reports: N/A.

• Faculty Handbook: Ed stated that we will have Faculty Handbook report soon.

New Business:

Ed Salo – Reappointment of Parliamentarian: Kevin Hennings has been re-appointed as Faculty Senate Parliamentarian.

Ed Salo – Appointment of Committee: Ed is developing two ad hoc committees

- 1)Interdisciplinary Team Teaching
- 2) Faculty Retention

These committees were discussed with the Provost and he is in support of both. You do not have to be on Faculty Senate to serve on these committees. Please email Ed by the next meeting if you or someone you know is interested in serving.

Donna Caldwell – Committee Letters: The information is with the library and will hopefully go out in September. There are 2 vacancies that need to be filled on faculty hearing committee-Title IX work; must be a tenured faculty member; 21 people on committee (3 from every college). We need to get this done, so if you want to serve please email Ed.

Other Business:

Donna Caldwell – Board of Trustees Meeting:

- Room 224 in the Neil Griffin College of Business being renamed in "FORVIS AIS lab"
- 30 acres of undeveloped property between Browns Lane and Race Street; Land will be appraised and advertised for bidding-on sale according to state law. Proceeds to go to strategic university purposes. Several faculty senators asked for examples of "strategic university purposes". Ed is requesting more information on this from Len Fry
- Board wants to revise tuition discount policy to includes some AOS (online) programs
- Board will be updating Faculty Emeritus Status Policy

Ed Salo adjourned the meeting at 3:52 pm.

The next meeting is scheduled for Friday, September 23rd at 3:00 pm in HSS 1028.